USVI & BVI Entry Requirements

USVI & BVI Entry Requirements

We’re pleased to provide information on USVI & BVI entry requirements to assist our charter guests.

From North America:

U.S. citizens traveling by air to Canada, Mexico, the Caribbean and Bermuda must present a passport or other WHTI-compliant documentation to enter or depart from the United States. In keeping with the regulations set out by the US Department of State, passports will be required for all US citizens. We advise guests to check the details on the US Department of State’s website.

Passports are required for all Canadian citizens.

From Europe:

Passports are required for all United Kingdom citizens.

European citizens need a valid passport to enter the British Virgin Islands. However, visitors that are residents of certain countries require a visa in order to enter the BVI.

From the Caribbean:

Please note that citizens from some islands may need to obtain a visa to visit the British Virgin Islands. Visitors from these Caribbean islands need to have a visa in order to enter the BVI.

Customs & Immigration

Customs and Immigration offices are located on Tortola in Road Town and the West End, on Virgin Gorda in the Virgin Gorda Airport, St. Thomas Bay Terminal, and the Owen Harrigan Visitors Centre at Gun Creek and on Jost Van Dyke in Great Harbour.

Further information

For more information on whether you require a visa and how to obtain one, please check the UK Border Agency or the Deputy Governor’s Office of the British Virgin Islands. If in doubt about the necessity of a visa, contact the nearest BVI Tourist Board Office, the nearest British Embassy, or contact the Chief Immigration Officer, Immigration Department, BVI Government at: Tel: 284-494-3471 or 284-494-3701 Ext. 4700.

The BVI tourism website ( also has some useful information, and please do check for the latest information with Luxury Crewed Yacht Charters BVI reservations team or your travel agent.

Note that an environmental levy of $10 per head is payable on arrival by all visitors to the British Virgin Islands (effective 1st Sept 2017).